EDC Dicreet Altoids Survival Kit

mini altoids kit 2

What is it?

This is a discreet, compact survival kit that goes everywhere with you. It is so small that you wont even know that it is on your person. You can hang it off of your existing keychain or you can attach it to your backpack, purse, fanny pack, etc. It contains the basic items to get you out of tough situation if you have nothing else on you. I want to say what it is not. This is not a complete survival kit. I suggest that you invest in a decent kit to have at home or in your car.

Contents

This Mini Altoids Survival Kit includes some basic tools to help you survive in an outdoor environment. It contains a Mini Altoids container that has all of the contents inside except for the paracord and carabiner. Inside you will find the following:

  • Altoids Container
  • Paracord
  • Carabiner
  • Blade
  • First Aid Kit
  • Compass
  • Strike Anywhere Matches
  • Tinder
  • Water Purification Tablet
  • Fishing Kit
  • Tape

Portable Mini Kit Contents

Practical Applications

So is this little kit really worth carrying around? I would say, Yes! Absolutely! It is very small and discreet and a whole lot smaller than that Smart Phone in your pocket.

Typical Scenario: You went into the woods on a small hike and ended up getting lost. While you were panicking trying to find your way back, you scratched yourself on branch and now you are bleeding. You can use the first aid kit to heal your wound and protect it from it getting infected and you can use the compass to orient you back to where home is. If night falls and you do not feel comfortable walking through the woods at night, you can use the paracord to help you put up a small shelter. The matches and tinder will help you  get a fire to keep you warm and allow you to see at night. In the morning, you can use the fishing kit to catch some fish. The blade will allow you to gut the fish and you can cook it over the fire you made the night before.

2016-02-18-15.41.52.jpg.jpg
Here is the Mini Altoids Kit attached to my backpack.
2016-02-18-15.39.50.jpg.jpg
You can see here that it is small enough to carry along with your keys.

Personal Experience

My family and I were camping in the mountains last year. While I was setting up the tent, I ran my hand across some bushes that started to burn and make my hand itch. I had my Full Sized Altoids Survival Kit attached to my backpack. I opened it and I took out an alcohol prep wipe to clean off whatever residue was still on my hand. After a few seconds, my hand was okay.

That same night, we were all sleeping inside the tent and the temperature dropped, and the wind increased. The next morning, I went into my backpack and got an extra tarp I brought, Just In Case. I used this tarp to throw over the tent and block the wind from getting into the tent. I needed to seal the tarp to the tent so I went into my Altoids Survival Kit and got some tape that I had in there. With the tape, I was able to make a solid seal and my family and I were able sleep well. The tent was “air tight” because of the tape I used from my Altoids Survival Kit.

Conclusion

It is always a good idea to be prepared. Either for a small wilderness hike or a family camping trip. You can click here if you want to purchase a Mini Altoids Survival Kit. A small investment will pay off when you need it the most.

Until next time.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply or Question

