Ham Radio Exam License in 1 Day

 

This past weekend was awesome. I passed the Technicians Element 2 Exam; Ham Radio Exam. I attended a Ham Cram hosted by BAEARS (Bay Area Educational Amateur Radio Society).This is a guided study that consists of six, 45 minute study sessions where you go over every single question in the question pool.

This is was the schedule for the study session:

8:00 – 8:30 Registration
8:30 – 9:00 Orientation
9:00 – 9:45 Study
9:45 – 10:00 Break
10:00 – 10:45 Study
10:45 – 11:00 Break
11:00 – 11:45 Study
11:45 – 1:00 Lunch Break
1:00 – 1:45 Study
1:45 – 2:00 Break
2:00 – 2:45 Study
2:45 – 3:00 Break
3:00 – 3:45 Study
3:45 – 4:00 Break
4:00 – 5:00 Test

As the instructors promised, if we follow this guided study and read every question in the Question Pool at least two times, there was a 90% chance we would pass the test. Sure enough, I passed. I got all 35 questions correct. I have to admit that I did do some studying a couple weeks before the test though. It took me about 10-15 minutes to complete the test. It was crazy because I knew the answer to every question.

This is a Ham Cram, or Study Cram. There is no prior knowledge required to take this class. You are guaranteed to pass if you follow the study schedule.

It began by the instructor giving us the entire Question Pool including the answers. They give you the graphical sheet that illustrates all of the electronic components that yo are required to know for the exam as well. The instructor then told us exactly what to do. We were to read the question, read the answer, and move on to the next one.

For example:

Which agency regulates and enforces the rules for the Amateur Radio Service in the United States? (C)
A. FEMA
B. The ITU
C. The FCC
D. Homeland Security

You can see that the answered is marked in parenthesis. So it is impossible to not know the answer.

As I mentioned above, there were six study sessions meaning that the Entire Question Pool was divided into six sections as well. Each session gave me enough time to read each question three times. It was a really long day but the hard work did pay off.

I want to mention that I went with my buddy to the Ham Cram. He walked in with no prior knowledge of the test or questions. He followed the study schedule just like the instructors said, and in the end he got 33/35 correct. That’s 94%!

I am really excited I passed the test. It was a lot of fun and hard work. I am just waiting on the FCC to give me my call sign so I can get on the air and make some contacts. I would encourage anyone that is interested in getting their License to see if there are any Ham Crams in their area. It is a great way to get your license in a short period of time.

Leave a Reply or Question

